BMW Z3 heating problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BMW Z3 heating problems

hi guys, newbie here, trying to help a friend out who is freezing her off because the heating isnt working in her Z3.

looking at it, it looks like the coolant level has dropped so much that there probably wasnt enough to power the internal heating - it took 1-2litres to refill. I've run the car with the heating on and rechecked the levels and it seems to be full now, but is there anything special you need to do with these cars to bleed the heating system?

many thanks in advance.

was trying to find an online manual, but no joy there :(

probably best getting to the heart of the issue of coolant loss!

Comment

1-2 litres probably won't have affected the heater THAT much. On non-M 6cylinder Z3s the thermostat is prone to breaking (it's sat in a plastic holder that often breaks) so the engine takes forever to warm up and will run slightly cooler in this kind of weather. My 2.8 did this, when I replaced the thermostat (an easy job on the 2.8), warm up was only about a mile or two instead of 5 or 10! and the heater was much hotter.

Comment

Cheers Rags, true, but I've got no idea how long its taken the car to loose that much coolant, as far as I can see the car doesnt have a leak, but I really dont know this is the first time I've really looked under its bonnet

CW, many thanks, I'll have a look see, it there anything I can do to test it or anything other than a cracked case that would indicate its broken? its only a 1.9 btw from what I could see the engine comes up to temperature ok, its just not delivering heat.

Comment

Originally posted by scuba2_diver View Post
          CW, many thanks, I'll have a look see, it there anything I can do to test it or anything other than a cracked case that would indicate its broken? its only a 1.9 btw from what I could see the engine comes up to temperature ok, its just not delivering heat.