Z3MCoupe.com Forums

Go Back   Z3MCoupe.com Forums > M Coupé Technical > Technical Discussion
HOME Gallery Register Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-10-2019, 08:11 PM
Dave P's Avatar
Dave P Dave P is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 24,669
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the badger View Post
Hi Dave, thanks again, will see what that part number comes up with from the stealers :(

realoem details,

https://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/sho...diagId=13_0579

13637840383
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-10-2019, 03:32 PM
Dave P's Avatar
Dave P Dave P is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 24,669
Default

Any update?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-10-2019, 06:16 PM
c_wgallery c_wgallery is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 85
Default

There was a superceded part for this, maybe it was just a change in manufacturer but they changed them around 2007 I think. I might have a spare (good one) somewhere.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-10-2019, 06:35 PM
Dave P's Avatar
Dave P Dave P is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 24,669
Default

Meant did he get the airbox off
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-10-2019, 10:37 PM
c_w's Avatar
c_w c_w is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North West
Posts: 8,556
Default

Oh I was just adding to the throttle sensor bit hehe
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 13-10-2019, 09:46 AM
Dave P's Avatar
Dave P Dave P is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 24,669
Default

You can check the working condition of the TPS before replacing,

some details here,


https://www.z3mcoupe.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2671
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 14-10-2019, 04:26 PM
the badger the badger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 54
Default Hi Dave

I have nt got round to doing anything yet, the weather is rubbish and the car is stored, am waiting for a bit of time and good weather to get this sorted. I have seen a video showing the resistance should be 4.5 omhs and I havnt tested yet.

I will let you know what happens :) I think it will be TPS, I hope :)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 14-10-2019, 10:23 PM
c_w's Avatar
c_w c_w is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North West
Posts: 8,556
Default

When mine “failed” i had rough running on part throttle/cruise which i put down to it spending most time in that position and therefore the tracks worn perhaps. This might be difficult to test for as it might for the most part show ok readings
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 14-10-2019, 10:39 PM
the badger the badger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 54
Default Thanks for info

Yeah, I know there are error codes on the engine that my indie couldnt get into, so he cleared them. They came back straight away. I m guessing about the throttle position sensor, but did read a thread on here where this solved a similar issue to mine.

I might just get the codes read, this might be the best place to start. Does the S50 motor have cam position sensors or is this all controlled by the Vanos?

Thanks, Dave
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 17-10-2019, 09:28 AM
c_w's Avatar
c_w c_w is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North West
Posts: 8,556
Default

Yes has 2 cam sensors, one is visible on the inlet cam near the throttle switch, the other is down the left side near the exhaust manifold. The exhaust cam is no too bad t o change, but the inlet I think needs the fuel rail removing. MO quite reliable if genuine parts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air filter housing, throttle position sensor, tps

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.