Z3MCoupe.com Forums

Go Back   Z3MCoupe.com Forums > Z3MCoupé.com Forums > General Discussion
HOME Gallery Register Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23-02-2011, 10:54 AM
Conan's Avatar
Conan Conan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Reading
Posts: 3
Default RaceLogic Traction control or similar?

Hi

Thinking of getting a Z3MC and want a car with TC after a few incidents with non TC cars!

Obviously the S54 cars have DSC but ive noticed a few S50 cars for sale with RaceLogic TC.

1. Is it any good

2. How much does it cost to fit

3. Can you still get it?


Any other buying pointers would be great!

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-02-2011, 11:16 AM
coupe fan coupe fan is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: richmond, surrey
Posts: 2,819
Default

Welcome to the Forum Matt. If I did not have an S54, I would get Racelogic because it's got a 'volume' control on it. Here's a link to another thread, but if you do an overall site search for 'racelogic', there's a good hours worth of reading on the subject

http://www.z3mcoupe.com/forum/showth...ight=racelogic
__________________
Strongstrut CL front brace-Yellowstuff pads/Castrol SRF race brake fluid-Rogue top mounts/Rear support bushes-H&R ARBs-Whiteline droplinks-Bilstein Sport shockers-H&R Springs-Black Halo Angel Eye headlight units-Sachs lightweight flywheel/matching clutch-Supersprint exhaust/race catalysers-BBS RSGTs with Falkens-K&N High Flow Air Filter-Recaro Pole Position seats - Exdos mod - ACS flippers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-02-2011, 01:19 PM
Conan's Avatar
Conan Conan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Reading
Posts: 3
Default

Cheers,

Ive an e28 M5 at the moment which i love but am ready to move on from and have always wanted a z3MC so sometime this year ill be on the lookout.

Ideally i fancy an s54 but it would be nice if the right s50 came along to know i could stick TC on it.

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-02-2011, 01:25 PM
c_w's Avatar
c_w c_w is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North West
Posts: 8,396
Default

Racelogic is worth having if you can, it just gives you a little bit of backup on slippery roads but it is still primarily a driving aid in the "race" sense - it's not a form of ESP like a modern car that uses brakes etc. It only meters power delivery. You can buy it from www.racelogic.co.uk directly, often through groupbuys though which gets a discount. As Coupefan said, it's adjustable by means of altering the "slip" level, basically how much the wheels can spin, from none, to a little, to a lot to "off".

Fitting is fairly simple once the wires are located (ABS and Injector wires) but takes a bit of time if you're after a neat installation. It took me best part of a weekend to do.


There's a thread I made here: http://www.z3mcoupe.com/forum/showth...ight=racelogic which has some photos missing which I might update (text and photos) when I get a chance.

Last edited by c_w; 23-02-2011 at 01:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-02-2011, 10:32 PM
Jonttt's Avatar
Jonttt Jonttt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,213
Default

I looked into this a couple of years ago for my first (S50) Z3m.

It is still available and they will offer discounted prices as its effectively old stock now. From memory the digital "option" was a no cost option now.

My research confirmed that it was a well respected system.
__________________
VIDEO or Journal
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-02-2011, 07:32 AM
Conan's Avatar
Conan Conan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Reading
Posts: 3
Default

Cgeers guys
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-02-2011, 10:24 AM
c_w's Avatar
c_w c_w is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North West
Posts: 8,396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonttt View Post
I looked into this a couple of years ago for my first (S50) Z3m.

It is still available and they will offer discounted prices as its effectively old stock now. From memory the digital "option" was a no cost option now.
Why would it be discontinued as it's their main/only traction control system AFAIK!?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-02-2011, 11:48 AM
siwilson siwilson is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 349
Default

All still available and the full throttle shift feature sounds very interesting.

http://www.racelogic.co.uk/index.php...action-control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
racelogic

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.